HISTORY

history.jpg

BaySide Inn's Roots

The Bayside Inn was originally built in 1927 as a boathouse with living quarters on the upper level. Flourishing during this period, it served as a boathouse until the mid-1940's.

In 1945, the building was turned into a marina, it's obvious prime location – mere steps away from the bustling downtown village of Saugatuck – was in high demand. What stands today as the Harbor House (Bayside's two large suites, 9 and 10) served as a boat-garage during the period between 1945 and 1956, when the marina closed.

For many years, high waters kept the building partially submerged. A seawall was added, but even that wasn't enough to hold the water back. The building sat with a failing foundation immersed in water until 1990. It was then that Kathy and Frank Wilson stepped in and purchased the challenged property. They proceeded to transform the property into Saugatuck's most prestigious waterfront bed and breakfast.

The Wilsons raised the building with a new foundation and added three rooms on the third level. After a ton of hard work, they transformed the decades-old boathouse into the elegant Bayside Inn Bed & Breakfast.

Just steps from downtown, with a spectacular view of the Saugatuck Harbor, The BaySide Inn is literally in the heart of Saugatuck, within walking distance to all the shops, galleries, restaurants, and festivities — all that Saugatuck has to offer.

The BaySide's warm and inviting rooms & suites, along with their cozy commons area and outdoor hot tub (open all year 'round), makes the Bayside Inn a perfect getaway in any season!